Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Lost in the cold snow,
Tall hills, cliff faces,
The snow drifts are deep
And I’m lost in the snow.

Whiteness as far as far is seen,
The river runs coldly,
Lonesome footprints I tread on,
The whiteness is as far as far is seen.

The cold freezes the face,
And ravens saw around the hills,
I saw my shadow on the snow
As the cold freezes the face.

A heron stood poised,
Knee deep in the flow
Of the icy-cold river Dove,
Where a heron stood poised.

And I gazed upon the white,
Where I trod in awe,
A mighty hill stole my breath
Where I gazed upon the white.

Isolated in an unknown land,
Snow covered tracks,
And hid modern meanings –
Isolated in an unknown land.

The lady of frosted dreams
Lurked closely near me,
And I smiled at my smallness,
Near the lady of frosted dreams.

I heard Nature tell her story,
I was alone marching on,
Like an army in the snow,
Where I heard Nature tell her story.

And this memory will remain with me long,
Deep inside like my soul,
The thick, deep, white snowy land,
This memory will remain with me long.

Lost in the cold snow,
Tall hills, and cliff faces,
The snow drifts are deep
And I’m lost in the snow.

© Paul D Hegginson 2013

******

Today’s featured poem comes from Paul Hegginson. Another fine example of his work, and a familiar scene to anyone at this time of year. For those who have missed the updates so far, we are currently in the process of editing and releasing Paul’s first collection of poems “Thinkulations”, 50 selected poems from the last 10 years. Follow us for more news on this and other poetic works we have planned.

