Tags

, , , , ,

I bought a lottery ticket here today miss,
and it cost me about a buck.
Guess I was feeling lucky,
but all I fell was out of luck.

And now I’m scratching even harder,
for one little cherry more.
I guess I’ll scratch till my nails fall off,
as I know what I’m scratching for.

For a home for my three children,
and my name on the front door.
For just one less creepy neighbor,
and some carpet on my floor.

© Jago Kosolosky 2013

*****

Todays featured poem comes from Jago Kosolosky, a Belgian writer and journalist.  Through the flowing meter and a plain-speaking usage of language, Jago takes the strikingly ordinary and everyday and turns it into something magical. The subject matter is intensely familiar, speaking of the hope that lies within us all for a better life. A very accessible piece of poetry.

Leave your thoughts below on this piece, and follow us for more poetry and news, and check out our publications page for the books we have already published.

And, if you believe, as we do, that new writers deserve the extra foothold on their way to becoming a successful author, we are currently running a crowdfunding campaign to take ourselves to the next level, and become a publishing house, help us fund our endeavours and be part of the future of publishing. http://igg.me/at/dagdapublishing/x/924031

