Tags

, , , , , , ,

Where did they go,
Those thought-bright fishes?
Those that filled my eyes?
Fleet-fast orange, blue, silver
Coral-circus dazzle-dancers:
There, then not, then flash-back
Again; noiseless yet crackling
Like electric sweet wrappers,
Organic, fluid metal gems.
Where are they now?

On kite-sun evenings
Like these,
I miss them so.
The endless, God-chain
That surprised me constantly
With form, with size, with flight;
With spikes, with might, with fight:
Challenged my very perceptions
Returning from fossil dawn waters.

Will I ever see them,
Their like again,
Those angel-dream darlings?
That fed my soul,
That kept me whole
On mornings like this
I find I need them;
That I grow smaller
In their absence.
If their disappearance
Was my fault –
That perhaps I took
Them for granted,
Once too often –
I hope they will accept
That I realise
How wrong I was.

© Paul Higgs 2013

*****

Todays featured poem comes from Paul Higgs. This is an almost reverential piece, dealing with loss and memory. A sad piece, full of fantastic imagery, Paul really draws us into the piece, and is almost apologetic in his approach to the subject matter. Esoteric and melancholy, this is a piece that deserves several reads to unlock the beauty within the words.

Leave your thoughts below, share, follow and hit us up on Facebook and Twitter for more poetry and news of what is going on in our corner of the literary world.

