Tags

, , , , , , ,

The rain breaks through the day; leaving nothing
outside a keyhole space for the sun to
show his face once more: even the fields bathed in grey
appear weary.
Battle starved emotions neglected in their fabric.
I feel as if such sadness has shrunken my skull.
Satire stitch your mouth –
my aim is not to raise a smile – come join me instead
in this gentle dance of single solitary subsistence.
Oh God did make me small, insignificant
hurling stones from the mouth of my very living.
I miss us – in dreams that transcend
their shadows end.
We came together once – you and I
lodging on a needle point of
volatile seismic existence – stoning each other lifeless.
My hand outlines your name in a tableau
of so many painted misunderstandings.
Seeking not new pastures, this woman’s
sigh of regret, slips serenely: from her lips

© Poppy Taylor 2013

*****

Today’s featured poem comes from Poppy Taylor, one of our regular writers. A comment on the loss of love and the loneliness that follows,  this is a deeply introspective piece. Strong imagery throughout, Poppy weaves a tale which is deeply personal, but transcends into a familiar telling to many. Accomplished, darkly beautiful and timeless.

Leave your thoughts below on this piece, and follow us for more new poetry and news of what is going on in our corner of the literary world. Hit us up on Social media too, our links are to the left. We look forward to connecting with you.

