Tags

, , , ,

The day that I almost got a corvette,
was similar to when I almost got a slim sillouette.
Both desirable to the opposite sex,
but I got none, maybe that’s why I’ve never bought a Rolex.

So I sit here and hug my own legs,
I should have just jumped next after Meggs.
But then you wouldn’t be reading a little piece of nothing,
obviously you enjoy contemplating at something.

The people look but can’t quite see,
lies all around buzzing non-stop like a bee.
Oh sweetie I get it, you think I’m mad,
at least I don’t dwell on what I could have had.

Insert opinion right here, their brain’s empty anyway,
never mind the pain, the switch is so quick they’ll forget in a day.
Silencing the masses is still so easy, everyone falls for the laser point,
as we all hurry to capture the moment on our contemporary polaroid.

© Alina Popa 2013

******

Todays featured poem comes from Alina Popa. Alina presents us with a commentary  which, to us, is an introspective piece which speaks of relationships, and a sense of one’s identity in the aftermath. A poem which will no doubt be familiar to many readers, Alina takes the thoughts that swim around in a persons head in the aftermath of break-up and weaves a tale which enthralls. There are deeper meanings at play here, especially in the last stanza, which takes on an almost philosophical bent, being as it were a commentary on society at large. Brilliantly crafted.
Leave your thoughts below on this piece, and follow us for more new poetry and news of what is going on in our corner of the literary world. Hit us up on Social media too, and keep in touch.

 

