Tags

, , , , , , ,

I saw her sitting on a
Wooden bench at a
Bus station, waiting
For a southbound bus,
Her years, like a wave’s
White foam disappearing
Into the yellow shore
Were quickly fading; I saw
A face of youthful
Vitality diminished
Into the vagaries of old age
Never to resurface again:

Life, a miniscule bit of infinity,
Here today then quickly gone,
Nothing more than a haunting
Song withering in the darkness
Of finite time: Life moves back and
Forth like an ocean’s tide eventually
Slowing to a sudden stillness:

I could see that the old woman’s
Life was fading, her will to
Live vanishing. Then to my
Dismay, I saw her collapse to the ground.
I rushed to help, but death had
Reached her before I,
I thought about life that day, and
About death as I sat on a
Wooden bench at a bus station,
Waiting for a southbound bus…

© James Piatt 2013

*****

In “Waiting for a Southbound Bus”, James Piatt muses upon mortality and how death can come cruelly, randomly, and suddenly amongst the everyday, taking both friend and stranger alike. A sad, reflective and achingly human piece of observational and personal poetry, James puts into words the despair of death and the inevitability of life.

Leave your thoughts below on this piece by James Piatt.

